Joy no matter what. A blog by Deanne Nelson.

Blogging, Speaking, and Writing | Jesus and Autism | The Nelson Family Journey

IT IS!!!!! May 27, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — gdnelson5 @ 10:40 pm
Tags: , , ,

We began the homeschool journey at our home a little over a month and a half ago, and I can say that I have felt unqualified and inadequate to teach my incredible boys for approximately…. a little over a month and a half! I find myself daily questioning every decision I make as their ‘teacher.’  They might not be learning as they should, but I have learned at an expert level how to beat myself up. Yes, I am definitely my harshest critic.

The Lord God knew the state of my fearful heart, and He certainly knows how to quiet such fears and bring peace. I was in need of a touch from the Lord as I was struggling with this new role,  and He sent that touch from the mouth of my beautiful son Nathan.

It is a challenge to determine how much knowledge and information Nathan truly takes in and understands. There are some topics that he will speak of in unlimited amounts, such as Disney Infiniti for XBox 360. But there is also a vast amount of information that seems to go to some secret place in his beautiful mind where it is securely locked and sealed. The more I try to get him to divulge and share in conversation on such things, the tighter that lock seems to become. Communication and conversation deficits are steady struggles in the world of autism. This can be discouraging at times, and I sometimes wonder if what I am sharing with and teaching him isn’t lost in space somewhere. For example,….

It was easily over a year ago when I tried to engage Nathan in a conversation about prayer. He has for many years now given the same type of rote and repetitive prayers. I recall trying to explain to him what an honor and incredible gift it was to have an audience with the Lord God who created the entire universe, and that if he searched his heart, he might find many new and beautiful words to speak to God. Now true and heartfelt prayer is a deep and abstract concept, so I had no way of knowing if Nathan truly grasped what I was trying to teach him. His prayers did not change, so I presumed it was a lesson lost. But I also shared with him to end a prayer with a sure and mighty AMEN, as the word amen literally meant ‘it is.’ I assured him that God heard his prayers, and that if any of us pray according to God’s word and His will, then the Amen at the end was the final and absolute confirmation…yes, IT IS. I get all excited over such things, but I still smile as I picture Nathan just looking at me with those uncertain and doubtful eyes, followed by silence. And with that the conversation was done. When Nathan is done talking, he is done talking. But boy do those wheels in his fabulous head keep turning. It would be over a year when confirmation would come that he indeed laid hold of some of that momma/son chat.

I had decided the other week that I would go over some topics in grammar with both boys together to get a gauge for where they were at. One lesson I chose was about contractions. As I was going over it, I began to write some words on our white board that could be united to form a contraction. My list included: have not, we will, you are, and it is. I left the column next to these phrases blank so that the boys could fill in what the new word would be. And so down the list we went…haven’t, we’ll, you’re,…and then we came to ‘it is’. Before Caleb could muster a response, Nathan shouted out an exuberant…”AMEN, ‘it is’ means Amen!”

I could hardly catch my breath when I heard him speak this. His face was lit up with pride, as he knew he had nailed it. IT IS…yes, that means Amen, or didn’t you know that???!! Thank you for the reminder Nathan, and thank you for never ceasing to amaze me.

And thank you Lord God for the assurance that with your guidance and love, I can indeed teach my sons.  We can all teach one another, as our words certainly do leave a lasting impact, whether we realize it or not. Each day is an opportunity for a new ‘lesson.’ Make it a worthy one.

 

2 Corinthians 1:20

20 For no matter how many promises God has made, they are “Yes” in Christ. And so through him the “Amen” is spoken by us to the glory of God.

Here is a very recent picture of my sweet boy.  He teaches me more than I could ever teach him.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

 

6 Responses to “IT IS!!!!!”

  1. Joyce Says:

    Thank you for blessing me today with your story. God is so faithful as we step into what He has called us to do!

  2. Rita Fleming - Johnson Says:

    Deanne, You are an inspirational Mom! I just love you and every message you send. I’m blessed to know your sweet family.

  3. Candace C. Lawrence Says:

    Deanne, Your journey inspires me and teaches me more about the nature of God! My prayers for you as you faithfully instruct your sweet boys!

  4. CenturyLink Customer Says:

    WOW! I’ve been wondering how it is going. I talked to Dellar the other day. I have never heard her so enthus iastic and “lively”. She talked about Hanly’s accomplishments, an upcoming church fund raiser, the busy times of Mike and Cindy, and your homeschooling. Of course, she was concerned that it might be too much for you and she apparently didn’t know that there are many joint activities that go on among homeschooling families. By the way, have you done anything yet with other kids? I said with complete confidence that “if anyone can do this, DeeDee can”. Since the Lord called you to this without question, He will equip you for it.He doesn’t seek ability, but availability. And I know for certain that you have your hand raised perpetually as you say “here am I, Lord, send me!” I shall continue to pray for your strength and times of refreshment. Probably it won’t be long before you see some breakthrough in the boys and in yourself. It is all still so new. Anyway, I was pleased to hear a lightness in Dellars voice. No mention of Rick or her Mom. All is well here. We’ll be inRaleigh in the Fall if not sooner. Neena is not doing well so we may come in the summer.Love you, Sue

  5. This was SUCH an inspiration to me! My daughter is three and on the spectrum, having just finished her first half of the year in public Special Needs Preschool. I have to admit there has been a huge regression since she started there and since she has been home for the summer, is starting to blossom again.

    I am praying for wisdom for her education and possibly homeschooling her. I wondered if I was crazy to think of teaching her myself with all of her needs and it was a comfort to find I am not the only one and others are doing it. Keep at it and keep praying! God will sustain you and give you the ability to do what He has called you to!

    You are welcome to check out our story at faithalongtheway.com. Many blessings to you! I will be following your journey!

    • gdnelson5 Says:

      Hi Sarah Ann, Thank you for sharing your encouragement and part of your journey. God can equip you to do what you thought would never be possible. I look forward to following your family story as well. God bless!!


Leave a Reply

